Not Here

by R.S. Jacobs

Can you call a place home…If it seems strange, if it feels wrong?

The time when you  were gone was so long. Can you call that place home?

I’ve got no home, not here. This outcome is my fear.

Home is more than a place to stay; More than a place to pass the day.

I’m glad to have a roof and bed. If I didn’t, I might be dead.

But this place is not home for me. And home is where I’d rather be.

No home, not here.

I would call a place home…If I could sing an endless song.

If I had my friends all day long, I would call that place home.

I’ve got no home, not here. This outcome I won’t fear.

Home is more than a roof and walls; My home will stand when the sky falls.

I’m glad to have a residence, But belief in one makes no sense.

This old place is not home for me. I’ll tell you where I’d rather be.

One home……not here.

trees, sky, sun through trees, blue skies

Leave a Reply

